Frequently Asked Questions about Foreign Currency

SystemSystem Posts: 412 admin

imageFrequently Asked Questions about Foreign Currency

Oops! This article is meant for a different version of Wave Accounting! You can search the Help Center for another article here.

Foreign exchange can be a tricky topic, but we try to make it easy...

Read the full story here

edited February 24, 2020 in Help Center Discussion

Comments

• Rob_Farrow_CPARob_Farrow_CPA Member Posts: 1

Unrealized Loss on Foreign Exchange - was created by WAVE as a balance sheet (Liability) account. It is in fact an income statement account. As a professional accountant, how can I eliminate a trivial balance in the account at the end of the year?

• eeelujeeeeluje Member Posts: 0

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Wave Accounting and need help with figuring out how to balance Foreign Exchange Differences.

I have $1000 USD Cash. I've exchanged it to VND 23,250,000. However, once I accounted for this for my VND Cash account, it shows an overate of 0.88 cents (my Business Account is based in USD). I don't know how to account for this difference as I'm taking $1000 USD Petty Cash and Converted it to 23,250,000 VND Petty Cash. There is now an overage of $0.88 cents that I don't know how to account for. How do I write off this $0.88 without it affecting my balancing?

Please advise.

edited March 8, 2020
  • EmmaPEmmaP Member Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

Hi @Rob_Farrow_CPA! Are you able to provide some further detail about the balance you are viewing? What type of transactions make up this balance? If you are able to provide any screenshots that would be helpful for us to have a better idea of what you are viewing and the possible next steps. Let us know!

• JordanDJordanD Member Posts: 515 ✭✭✭