Various Payments over time for Asset purchase

Lt1014Lt1014 Member Posts: 3

Hi, I'm hoping this is an easy questions but I'm new to this accounting stuff

I bought an asset (a website) back in Feb 2019. I made a number of payments over time to purchase the asset through:
1. Personal funds (the deposit and a couple of payments came from my personal bank account)
2. Funds from the business.

I spoke to my accountant who said to create an asset and a matching liability and then post the payments to the liability since payments were done over 13 months.

So I created an asset category under "Property, Plant, Equipment" called "website".

A few questions:
1. Under what heading should I create the liability account? "Expected Payments to Vendor" or "Long Term Liability" since payments were made over a 13 months?
2. How do I create the asset and it's matching liability?
3. How do I post each payment (I assume I have to create a journal transaction) but what do I credit and what do I debit? )

Since I'm new at this if someone could explain this to me at a 2nd grade level, that would be really helpful :)

Thanks so much everyone!

Comments

• Kristian_GKristian_G Member Posts: 56 admin

Hey @Lt1014!

Good questions! These kinds of things are definitely on the more difficult/advanced side in Wave, so kudos to you for taking this on. The good news is that, despite what we're doing is a bit more advanced, the individual steps themselves are all pretty simple and straight forward. I'll read through your post now, and address your question as I encounter them.

You were spot on with your first step in creating a new asset account for your website, however, I would personally recommend creating the asset under "Other Long Term Asset" rather than "Property, Plant, and Equipment." If you'd like to do that, you can simply create a new one under "Other Long Term Asset," and archive the old one under "Property, Plant, and Equipment."