Options

How do I pass credit card fees onto my customer?

SystemSystem Posts: 412 admin

imageHow do I pass credit card fees onto my customer?

According to Visa, MasterCard and American Express merchant rules, merchants generally cannot charge a service fee when customers use their credit card. However, Visa, MasterCard, and American Expr...

Read the full story here

edited December 9, 2018 in Help Center Discussion

Comments

• Options
    AlyssaAlyssa Member Posts: 1

How do I know if I'm an eligible merchant? I'm a personal chef who charges weekly service fees to my clients. Thanks!

• Options
    SamdSamd Member Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Hey @Alyssa, great question! While the advice listed in this article will work for anyone, anywhere using Wave, whether or not you should will be dependent on local regulations. So, depending where you're located, I'd recommend just doing a quick google search to see if it is legal to pass on merchant fees onto your customer within your country. It'd also be worth searching to see if it is legal at a state or provincial level. If there are any restrictions, this should pull up any government websites detailing the rules.

• Options
    robofredrobofred Member Posts: 2

I run a property management company. Most folks usually pay with a check. I'd love to add bank payments and credit cards as payment options, however: can I add the surcharge dynamically. In other words, can $X of surcharge be automatically added IF they use bank payment, $Y if they use credit card, and $0 if they pay by check the old fashion way?

• Options
    snowharvestersnowharvester Member Posts: 1

Some times I email customers an invoice and they have the option to mail me a check or pay via CC. There should be an option where the CC fee populates if they click on the online payment link but not if they just mail me a check.

• Options
    AndrewFromWaveAndrewFromWave Member Posts: 10 admin