How to add a payment to a bill

2»

Comments

• Admingirl007Admingirl007 Member Posts: 1

Hi. Please help I am so confused what is the difference between entering a bill and a receipt.
    Sorry but the whole time I was using quickbooks so i am new to all this.

• JordanDJordanD Member Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

Hi @Admingirl007 and welcome to Wave's Community Forum! In Wave, a receipt will show an expense that has immediately occurred for your business - think something that you have already made an expense for and the funds have come from your business already. A bill is usually something that you would receive from a vendor in order for you to pay them for their work. In many cases, the payment isn't required in full until the work or service has been completed, but you are given a bill to show you what the incurred costs will likely be. Bills also typically tend to have a future payment date and payment due date on them. Hope this helps!

• LA2LA2 Member Posts: 1

I created several bills in for a vendor, as we receive invoices weekly but pay them monthly. I am trying to record a payment by cheque for multiple bills and match the bank transaction. What is the best way to do this? It seems like it should be simple to match the cheque to the invoices but I don't seem to be able to do that?

• EmmaPEmmaP Member Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

Hi @LA2! If you have the bank imported transaction in your Transactions page, the best way to do this would be to categorize it as 'Payment sent for a Bill in Wave' then select the outstanding bill. This will mark the bill as 'Paid' and categorize the transaction correctly. If you want to apply the transaction to multiple bills you can split the transaction and categorize each split line to a bill!

• RGSTreasurerRGSTreasurer Member Posts: 1