Options

Guidance on how to delete an old account in assets (Cash & Bank)

Comments

• Options
    AlexiaAlexia Member Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, @thinkprosocial.

The reason why we don't allow Wavers to delete accounts is that it can lead to potentially costly accidents. In the old version of Wave, this is still possible, and a few other Wavers have just recently posted on the Community about accidentally deleting important accounts.

You can archive these accounts, preventing them from appearing in much of Wave. I understand it's still annoying to see those accounts on your Chart of Accounts. How would you feel about a specific section or tab for archived accounts instead? A way to get them out of sight, without permanently deleting them.

• Options
    JimboJimbo Member Posts: 1

I am still learning Wave and have made some mistakes and set up some test accounts. I want to be able to delete them, not archive them. Maybe when they are "deleted" they get archived for 30 days then totally deleted. I just want to keep my books clean. Over all I am happy with Wave but this not being able to delete is causing me to look at using another program. I hope they fix it soon,

• Options
    MotomonkeyMotomonkey Member Posts: 1

Can I DELETE my entire WAVE account and start over? I have set up way to many accounts in the wrong section to see my mistake staring at me for the rest of my relationship with WAVE. There are SO MANY better ways to deal with this "RISK" than to prevent users from deleting accounts. FIX THIS or lose customers

• Options

Thank you for your feedback, @Jimbo.

Yes, @Motomonkey, you can. It might be simpler to just archive your entire business and start a new one on the same Wave account, however. You could also keep your original business under a different name and use it as a test account.

Here's how you can create a second business and how to archive a business